Monday, October 8, 2012

Mailbox Monday: A Late-in-the-Columbus-Day-Weekend-Edition

Here are a few of the books I received this week; I couldn't post on them until we returned from our Columbus Day weekend "Up North" which was away from computers but close to the most beautiful trees you could ever hope to see. Pictures on that a bit later in the week...for now? See what catches your fancy from the books below:


A Thousand Pardons by Jonathan Dee (from Random House on sale March 12, 2013)

A brief synopsis: For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

“Full of elegance, vitality and complexity . . . Dee is at once funny, subversive and sympathetic.” ~The New York Times Book Review

“Scintillating . . . Dee is a remarkably skilled portraitist.” ~The Washington Post

“Admirably relentless.” ~The New Yorker

“Pitch-perfect prose—a real delight for those who have all but given up on recent fiction . . . a riveting book about the new American family and the atomizing pressures of modern life.” ~Chicago Tribune

“Dee’s book is so witty and savvy and adroit and basically humane—as well as breathtakingly intelligent—that it shines beyond all categories on its astonishing merits.” ~Richard Ford



The Secret Keeper by  Kate Morton (from Simon and Schuster on sale October 16, 2012)

A brief synopsis: From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Distant Hours, The Forgotten Garden, and The House at Riverton, a spellbinding new novel filled with mystery, thievery, murder, and enduring love.

"Morton's finesse with family secrets increases with each novel." -Kirkus Reviews


Reflected in You by Sylvia Day (from Penguin, UK, on sale October 23, 2012)

A brief synopsis: The sensual saga of Eva and Gideon continues in the hotly anticipated follow-up to Bared to You... the New York Times bestselling novel of “Erotic romance that should not be missed.”– Romance Novel News



The Silent House by Orhan Pamuk (from Knopf on sale October 9, 2012)

A brief synopsis: Never before published in English, Orhan Pamuk’s second novel is the story of a Turkish family gathering in the shadow of the impending military coup of 1980.

"Essential reading for our times.... In Turkey, Pamuk is the equivalent of a rock star, guru, diagnostic specialist, and political pundit: the Turkish public reads his novels as if taking its own pulse." -Margaret Atwood, "The New York Times Book Review



Indiscretion by Charles Dubow (from Harper Collins, on sale February 5, 2013)
 
A brief synopsis: We’ve all been around a couple who can engulf the attention of an entire room merely by occupying it. Harry and Madeleine Winslow are that set; the natural ease between them is palpable and their chemistry is almost tangible. He is a recent National Book Award winner with a promising career ahead of him, and she is blessed with family money, but radiates beauty, elegance, and humility. Whether they are abroad in Italy after he receives the Rome Prize, in their ambrosial East Hampton home, or in gritty Manhattan, they are always surrounded by close friends and those who wish to penetrate their inner circle. During a summer spent at the beach, they meet 26 year-old Claire and, as the summer blazes on, she is slowly inducted into their world. Claire can’t help but fall in love with Harry and Maddy and at the end of the summer, it is no longer enough to just be one of their hangers-on. Told through the omniscient eyes of Maddy’s childhood friend Walter, Indiscretion is a juicy, page turning novel with writing that is sophisticated and lyrical. Deeply textured, full of light and darkness, and overwhelmingly sensual, this book will be the sexiest, most intimate story you read all year.
 
"What a compelling first novel. The narrative hooked me right out of the gate, with each character and situation developing like a fine oil painting. Indiscretion did what so many novels fail to do: take the reader to task by asking them to answer tough questions about themselves. Charles Dubow is officially on my radar." ~Javier Ramirez, The Book Stall, Winnetka, Illinois

(Find more Mailbox Monday posts here.)

14 comments:

  1. What a great selection of books!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, they all look great - it'll be hard to know which one to read first.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Bellezza, these all sound so good!

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a fantastic array of literary treasures. I want to read most on those and hope to begin Secret Keeper soon.

    I'm on day 4 (last of a glorious 4 day weekend)...back to the salt mill tomorrow....LOL (I mean library)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ooh the Jonathan Dee and the Charles Dubow both attract me very much. I have one of Dee's earlier novels to read, Palladian, and you remind me to pick it up sooner rather than later. I will be very interested to hear how you get on with the Pamuk too.

    ReplyDelete
  6. will be interested in which becomes your favourite.

    ReplyDelete
  7. They all look VERY good. THANKS. More to add to my TBR stack.

    The trees in PA aren't that pretty....mostly yellows. I want some reds mixed in there too. :)

    ENJOY your books and your week. Looking forward to some pretty tree photos.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2012/10/mailbox-monday-1082012.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is an awesome loot Bellezza. I would really like a copy of Kate Morton's and Orhan Pamuk's books! Happy reading.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow! Maybe Columbus discovered books, not America!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh thank you for this post!! I'm very interested in A Thousand Pardons since you mentioned Jonathan Franzen. I have read Jonathan Franzen and had the privilege to hear him speak earlier this year. I also have just picked up a Kate Morton but have yet to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I've been seeing Kate Morton everywhere lately. I've heard that she writes beautifully. I'm just not sure which of her books to start with!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I've seen the Kate Morton book everywhere but the others are new to me. I started My name is Red by Pamuk but it became a DNF. Looking forward to seeing what you think of this one.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Great list of books :) I've got The Secret Keeper on my e-reader, but the rest sounds pretty good too!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'd happily read any of those books. I was really happy to receive a copy of the Kate Morton in the mail this week. My cover is very different though!

    ReplyDelete